The Acquisition of Memories, Part 1

“The business of life is the acquisition of memories.” 

Carson, the butler on Downtown Abbey

If Carson is right and the business of life is the acquisition of memories, I’ve had a very busy business week. If you consider the fact that I do not work full-time right now the fact that I’ve been busy at all is remarkable.

19113541_10155422708554747_700794975539491840_n

Soon-to-be-members of The Citadel, Class of 2021 with Atlanta Citadel Club president, Gregory Horton and Vice President, Michael Escoe at the end of the Atlanta Citadel Club’s Annual Send off Dinner.

I’ve just lived through one of the most incredible weeks. It began on June 16 with the annual Knob Send off Dinner hosted by the Atlanta Citadel Club (ACC). I was honored by being placed at the head table with the the president and vice president of the ACC. I was also asked to say the blessing for the meal and later address the new families. This year marks ten years since I was the parent of an incoming knob at The Citadel. I was nervous and anxious, but the mom of a current cadet I sat net to at the time was so helpful and welcoming my nerves were calmed a bit. The turn out for the dinner was great. If you are the parent of a student who will be in The Citadel Class of 2017, please join the Facebook group for parents.

June 17 I went on my first “ride along” with the Roswell Fire department. As a member of the inaugural Community Emergency Response Team class, and now the Chaplain for the Roswell Fire Department, it was very exciting opportunity. The Fire fighters at Station 1 made me feel right at home. As they handled their morning routine I asked a gazillion questions and they answered each of them with patience. I am glad I asked many of the questions because later that afternoon we went out on a call along with several stations including some from neighboring towns. I rode int eh the big truck with two fire fighters from station 1. It was quite a bumpy ride as we sped through town with the sirens and lights flashing. Riding facing the back gave me an interesting perspective of how drivers react when an emergency response vehicle needs to get through traffic.

As the fire fighters went to work I was struck at how quickly the team came together. I’ve studied emergency response through the online classes FEMA offers. I was a Disaster Assistance Volunteer (DAT) with the Red Cross fro a few years too. This call brought all that studying to life. While the team came together I spoke to the EMT’s who were with the family.

I spent some time with the family as they sat and watched the smoke billowing out of their home. After about 20 minutes the neighbors began to show up offering help. Once the fire was under control the fire inspector came in. I was able to observe the process of finding the cause of the fire.

Through the whole experience I was struck by the professionalism and caring of our first responders. We left the scene several hours later. I have some amazing memories from that day.

19399546_10155455267139747_2107936459286751956_n

Visiting with Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed, June 20, 2017

After Saturday there was no time to rest as I was called by my dear friend Soumaya who asked me to help her put together a dinner with the staff of Mayor Reed of the City of Atlanta. The dinner June 20 was to be the first ever Iftar Dinner hosted by a mayor of Atlanta. Soumaya is the founder of the Islamic Speakers Bureau of Atlanta, a nonprofit organization that helps to build understanding of the Islamic faith through education. I’ve worked with Soumaya and her board on a few events the past few years. It was an honor to help with this historic event.

Within just a few days a dinner for 150 people at City Hall was pulled together. Unfortunately the Monday before the Tuesday dinner Soumaya learned that her father was gravely ill and died that evening. I met with Soumaya at her home to go over all the details for the dinner the next evening. It was an honor to work the event, but more so to be with my dear friend as she began the mourning process for her dear father.

Tuesday, June 20 there was a massive rain storm which did not damped the evening, although the streets were a rushing river of drain off. The food was amazing and the Mayor presented Soumaya with the highest civilian Award, The Phoenix Award.

The next day I flew to Chicago for the 2017 Facebook Communities Summit. It was such a whirlwind trip that I will write about it separately.

Leave a Reply

